The Hunt is Here!

Welcome to YA Scavenger Hunt! I’m Darcy Woods, author of the double RITA® nominated YA contemporary, Summer of Supernovas, and your vintage dress-wearing hostess for this leg of the hunt. Keep your eyes peeled for my inspiration board (with fun teasers) of Summer of Supernovas as you continue the Pink Team hunt!

cover-rita web

 

 

 

 

 

This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some awesome prizes! At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one book from each author on the hunt in my team! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online for 120 hours!

Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page to find out all about the hunt. There are FIVE  contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one or all! I’m a part of the PINK TEAM! But there is also a red team, a gold team, a blue team, and a purple team for a chance to win a whole different set of books!Team Pink

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and
see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.

 

SCAVENGER HUNT PUZZLE

Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the Pink Team, and then add them up (this isn’t a math test so feel free to whip out those calculators!).

Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize! Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by October 8th, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

THE SCAVENGER HUNT

coubra-044Today, I’m terrifically excited to be hosting Courtney Brandt! Ms. Brandt lives in Dubai and writes about marching band and a fictional Queen of England. She also publishes under a pen name, Ann Benjamin, and talks about food as A to Za’atar.

Find out more by checking out Courtney’s website!

 

 

 

 

EXCLUSIVE CONTENT

THE QUEEN OF ENGLAND: CORONATIONqueen-cover
About the book:

A story of growing up and leading a nation.Set in an alternate universe of London, after the untimely death of Queen Victoria in 1840, recently crowned Juliette faces a mysterious organization. The New World Order threatens her country and claims responsibility for the dirigible accident which killed off much of the aristocracy. Add in distracting romantic entanglements, a gifted unicorn, and tracking down the legendary Excalibur and this teenage Queen has an uphill battle leading to her coronation at Westminster. Will her reign be over before it has a chance to begin?Fans of Gail Carriger, Shanna Swendson, and Gaslamp fantasy won’t want to miss out on this lighthearted YA steampunk adventure.The Queen of England: Coronation is the first book in a trilogy by author Courtney Brandt.

 

Did someone say UNICORNS and YA steampunk adventure? I’m intrigued! Read on for an exclusive peek at a deleted scene!

 

I dressed carefully for my audience in a severe, form-fitting black gown (cut to reveal more of my bosom than I preferred), which I paired not with one of my delicate tiaras or circlets, but with one of the more powerful crowns in the collection. The diamonds demanded respect and attention, and the emeralds sparkled fiercely. I drew the line at wearing a cape (even though Askew had wanted me to “for dramatic effect”), but Pippa found a glorious pelisse of deep purple to complete my ensemble. Although in no way fashionable, I decided to attach Excalibur to my side, and wore the sword proudly.

The journey to the Palace of Westminster, currently under construction as the devastating fire from a few years ago had rendered many parts of the building unusable, was not far and did nothing to calm my nerves.

Inside the temporary quarters, I was one of the youngest people in the room, but there were a few peers closer to my age than the elder statesmen. There was limited applause, but no cheering. After all, unlike the popularity of Victoria, no one knew quite what to do with me.
“Gentlemen, Lords, and stewards of this fine nation, please be seated.” I waited as the group settled and raised my voice even further. “Thank you for allowing me an audience today. I know these are trying times for all of us, especially as we face the danger of the New World Order.”

At these words, there was much hissing and jeering. I was glad for their response—it meant our public relations campaign had been working. While the article about the New World Order was still quite recent, newspapers had pounced on the opportunity. There were all sorts of investigative articles and calls to rid them from our society.

Once the group calmed again, I continued, “Yes, there is a cancer in our society. For those who have wanted to deny their existence, we can no longer afford to do so. For those who wish to do away with the monarchy, I say I am here to stay. I know some of you think I am just a young woman, with no place in politics, that I was never intended to have the crown. Yes, I may be young. Yes, I never believed I would be Queen, but I believe we must honor our forefathers and protect the monarchy. And that is why I’ve come with a request. There are whispers. There are traitors among us. There are those who would sell out Britain for the promise of money and power in the future. And who am I? One woman. But I ask you to stand up to these traitors.”

There were cheers.

“Should you want a private word with me, you may contact my staff to set up an appointment. The palace is open to you and to any who want to protect this country.”
Curtseying deeply, I nodded to the group. Turning to walk out, the train of my dress drifted behind me. Let the gauntlet be thrown. This was my country and I wasn’t going to give it up without a fight. If the pestilence was part of Parliament, someone had to know of it. We needed a name, a trial, some form of justice for those who had perished.

Hungry for more after that literary snack? You can buy it here!

Connect with Courtney on FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

SECRET NUMBER

To enter, you should know how much I love the number 33. Why? Because in elementary school I correctly guessed the number of jelly beans in the jar and won all 33 beans! It’s the only time I ever won anything, so 33 will forever be a favorite. Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the Pink team and you’ll have the secret code to enter for the grand prize!

CONTINUE THE HUNT

To continue on your numerical hunt for a jackpot of books, you’ll want to check out the next author on Pink team, the marvelous Sarah Vance-Tompkins!

pink fall 2017

Contests, Giveaways, Writer's Life

One Response to The Hunt is Here!

  1. Isabelle says:

    Hi. Thanks for being part of the hunt. I’m looking forward to read Summer of Supernovas. :)

Leave a Reply to Isabelle Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>